Timothy R. Baldwin

The Four Loves, A Brief Review

In this little book, The Four Loves, C. S. Lewis delves deep into the complexities of love. He sets the stage by making a distinction between likes and loves. Then he delves into the four loves themselves: Affection, Friendship, Eros, and Charity.

I must say, this book is like a rich cake or a well-cooked steak. It can only truly be enjoyed and appreciated in small parts, with breaks in between. I found myself putting the book down and leaving it for days on end as I meditated on the ideas presented to me.

One of Lewis’ closing remarks, in response to whether our beloved (friends, family, or lovers) will be known to us in Heaven. He says, “love that had never embodied love Love Himself” would pass away. For in Heaven, only the eternal is resurrected and renewed.

While this idea may give one a glimpse into Lewis’ thought process, it doesn’t do it the justice a full and careful read would. Only to say that affection, friendship, and eros must take a knee to Charity, which is most like Love Himself.

Needless to say, I think everyone, even the non-Christian, should give this little book a read.

Post a Comment

(301) 660-8912 authortbaldwin@yahoo.com
News & Updates
* indicates required